Proximade Award

proximade_awardShonda of TexasRed Books has awarded The Sky’s the Limit a Proximade Award.

According to the award, The Sky’s the Limit invests and believes in the proximity of relationships in space and time. I, being the man behind the curtain, seek friendships rather than self-aggrandizement. I’m assuming that means I’m a fairly nice sort of fellow with a fairly decent sort of blog.

The aim of the Proximade Award appears to be the creation of new friendships and stronger ties among the blogging community. I’m supposed to pass the award along to eight more people.

Here is the text associated with the award:

“This blog invests and believes in the PROXIMITY-nearness in space, time and relationships. These blogs are exceedingly charming. These kind bloggers aim to find and be friends. They are not interested in prizes or self-aggrandizement!

Our hope is that when the ribbons of these prizes are cut, even more friendships are propagated. Please give attention to these writers!

Deliver this award to eight bloggers who must choose eight more and include this clever-written text into the body of their award.”

Shonda received her Proximade Award from Jo-Jo Loves to Read and Desert Rose Booklogue. The meme has been circulating since December ’08, likely longer. I can’t determine it’s origin, but it seems safe to assume it came from outside the United States. The text on the icon looks Spanish to me, and the body text appears to have been written by someone not fluent in English.

I’m going to break the rules again. Keeping the spirit of the award, I will strengthen ties with other bloggers; but I won’t be passing along the award itself quite the way it says.

Share/Save/Bookmark Subscribe

About James A Woods
Freelance Writer, Constant Learner, Family Man

2 Responses to Proximade Award

  1. TexasRed says:

    Congratulations!

  2. stitchlily says:

    My boyfriend hates them, says these awards are just glorified chain-letters. So, when I said I have recieved this one, I got a lecture on the pointlessness of it.

    But I do like the idea of it, of bringing people together, hey, I mightn’t have come across your blog but for it! And I have to admit I was chuffed at getting one. But I like what you say about it. It’s nice to see I’m not the only one who doesn’t want to follow the exact rules…

Leave a comment